The area typically consists of Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North and South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee, Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas. The American South is known for incredibly long and muggy summers and relatively temperate winters when compared to the rest of the United States. Not only do the Appalachian Mountains run through it, but the American South is also home to subtropical areas like the bayous of Louisiana and the everglades of Florida.