Of the four regions of the United States, the Northeast, which consists of New York, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, Vermont, Rhode Island, and Massachusetts, is the second most urban area in the country. Many of the original Thirteen Colonies can be found in this region, giving it a rich cultural history. Close to half of the national historic landmarks maintained by the National Park Service can be found in this region, making it an attractive tourist destination.